No Mcdonalds in Iceland – Sliders, beef burgers from one animal

by soffiagudrun

We don´t have any Mcdonalds or Burger King in Iceland.  We ones did for few years, but it didn´t get enough costumers to stay in business.  I was one of  those who never went to Mcdonlds.

For me the best burgers are made at home with local  ground beef (100% grass fed)  from the farmers next door.  I do make the buns myself as well, specially when I make sliders.  I love sliders because sometimes I can not choose what to put on my burger because I want everything and that way I can eat 3-4 small burgers with different toppings instead of one big. Decisions, decisions, decisions…  should I have mustard and pickled cucumbers or  guacamole and chilpotle, maybe bbq and mayo….

The other day I made 16 little burger buns and 16 little 40 gr. burgers.  Few of them I marinated in bbq sause, others were plain with a dry rub and few had  Indian spice blend.

Burger buns

  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 6 tablespoons Palmin  (or coconut fat)
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/4 teaspoon dry yeast
  • 1 tablespoon salt

1 cup = 2,4 dl

Heat the milk in a pot, and the fat (palmin or coconut fat)

Put everything in a “Kitchen Aid” and make a bread dough with the hook, have it run for about 4 minutes, medium speed.  (Or kneed it by hand)

Make about 16 buns from this dough.  Put it on a parchment paper on an oven plate and let it rise for about 30 minutes.

Bake it for 20-30 min at 200°c

I put eggwhite and sesame seeds on some buns before putting it in the oven.

Ground beef

  • Spices you like or bbq sauce

Make small burgers, about 40 grams each.

I added to my ground beef some finely chopped shallot, chilpotle spice, salt, pepper, barley and an egg, and mixed it well.

I made an bbq sauce in a pot: Butter, garlic, shallot, brown sugar, ketchup, canned tomatoes, pineapple juice, chilpotle spice mix, salt, pepper, red wine, and chilpotle in Adobo sauce.

Burger Raita:  The burger with the indian spices had raitia, Greek yogurt, red onion, tomatoes, red pepper and cucumber, all finely chopped.  I spiced it up with a tikka masala spice blend and garlic.

I made chilpotle sauce, that one I LOVE.  It´s half a chilpotle in adobo sauce (comes in a can) and stirred with sour cream

The house by the sea on Facebook.
I am posting all kinds of things related to food.
If you like food, good recipes, food politics and everything else related to food this is the page to like.
