Mustard blue mussels and Thai blue mussels

by soffiagudrun

The picture above is taken from my land, so this is the view from my window

and the sea, the Atlantic ocean, where I get my mussels from.

Here are two really good mussels recipes. I love blue mussels. I have a land in the country by the sea and there I can pick fresh mussels. They are so good when they are cooked fresh.

If you get a chance picking your own I totally recommend it! But when I don´t pick my own I just get the frozen ones at the supermarket.

Mustard blue mussels

  • 1/2 L cream
  • 2-3 dl good white wine
  • Garlic, by taste
  • 1-2 shallot onions
  • 150 gr butter
  • 3-4 tbsp Dijon mustard, or by taste
  • Salt and pepper

Brown the shallot and the garlic in some butter with the mussels. Add white wine, cream, more butter and mustard. Salt and pepper. Simmer until mussel is ready, 10 minutes or so.

Easy like Sunday morning…eh?

It´s a must to have a fresh baguette with this recipe because the mustard cream sauce is delicious to wet the bread in!

Thai blue mussels

  • 1 can coconut milk
  • Few tbsp red or green curry
  • Bit of red chile
  • Garlic
  • 1 Red pepper
  • 1 Red onion
  • 1/2 zucchini
  • Ginger
  • Cilantro
  • Butter
  • Salt and pepper

Cut the red pepper, red onion and zucchini small. Brown it on a pan with butter plus the finely chopped garlic, chile, ginger and then mussels Add the curry paste and coconut milk. Simmer until ready. Add salt and pepper by taste.

I read this on Wikipedia: It is a common misconception that unopened shells are unsafe to eat and should be discarded. The myth seems to have been started by the English food writer, Jason Gibson in her 1973 publication, Fish Book.

Interesting, I thought you couldn´t eat the unopened ones…hmmmm.

And the cat liked the red wine more than the mussels…

