Sorbet

by soffiagudrun

I really hope all the snow is gone for now, until next winter.  The only frost I want to see these days  is what´s keeping my sorbet frozen.

We have fresh berries in the supermarket.  A little box of berries is very expensive.  I never buy them, but I always have few bags of frozen berries in my freezer.  They are perfect for making a sorbet.  Every fall I go out and pick lots and lots of Blueberries and Crowberries to freeze and use it mostly for my smoothie all winter.  I find them to precious to drown them with sugar for jams.

Sorbet

  • 3 cups mixed berries, fresh or frozen ( I only had frozen)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 lemon, zest and juice

Put everything in a put and bring to boil.  I used strawberries, blueberries and raspberries

Reduce heat to low and simmer for 10 minutes.

Take pot off the heat and cool down.

Puree in a food prosessor ( or a blender) and strain.

Put the sorbet in a box and into the freezer for few hours at least.

If you have an Ice cream machine you can use that.

This recipe can also be used as a berry “kind of a ” jam.  Same thing, just don´t freeze it.

I did that the other day and used it with waffles and whipped cream, so very good.

