My kitchen – in the making I

by soffiagudrun

I am building a house in the country.  We live there already but it sure isn´t finished.  When you don´t have all the money in the world things get done slowly BUT SURELY!

And for me that is a good thing because I am still deciding on  how I want to have everything.  Since I can choose all the interiors myself I want to choose well and make sure it´s something that wont go out of style horrible or I will get bored with  in few years.

I have been having a good relaxing time browsing through home decor magazines to get some Ideas, some of the things I like are not availible here in Iceland or really expensive.  So I have to dance around the Ideas, and maybe that´s how I come up with more personal style.

I don´t want a typical kitchen.  I want it to have a country feeling, since we are in the country.  I love the big Chinese cupboards and drawers with million little drawers and I love the rustic old Italian farm kitchens.

Here is a link to  my  Kitchen Collection mood board on Pinterest

The main thing though is to have a  kitchen with lots of good food, wine and friends.

This is how it looked like when we first moved in.  It has changed QUITE A BITt since then.  (I am still using that little oven though, and it works like a charm, best pizzas I make come from it).

And this is how I cooked the first dinner in the kitchen.

It was pan fried Salmon with couscous.

Pan fried Salmon

  • Salmon
  • Butter
  • Garlic, one clove crushed.
  • Salt and pepper
  • Fresh chives
  • 1-2 teaspoons pistachios, crushed in a mortel

Melt butter in a pan, fry the fish, skin side down first if it has a skin. Season with salt and pepper and little bit of garlicSmjör brætt á pönnu, fiskurinn settur á pönnuna. (Steikt á roði fyrst ef laxinn er með roði og svo hinni hlið). Kryddað með smá salti og pipar og pínu pons hvítlauk.  In the end add some Pistachios on top of the fish.

Serve with couscous, sour cream, cucumber, sliced red onion and lots of  fresh chives.

