Scandinavian crisp bread – healthy, easy, so good…

by soffiagudrun

In Scandinavia crisp bread is very common and popular. It can be used with all kinds of topping.  It´s the  perfect snack  between meals, with butter, cheese and sliced cucumber.  I am also a fan of crisp bread with lamb pate.  Lamb pate is very Icelandic and I should give you a recipe.  I will do that very soon.

Nothing beats the homemade crisp bread.  It´s super easy to make and just healthy!

I have been reading many different recipes and there is not just one recipe, there are so many good ones and you can play with different flour and seeds, just based on what you like.

I love rye flour, oat meal and all kinds of seeds. Some recipes ask for lots of vegetable oil others use less or none.  I use less and it works very well.  Some recipes tell you to bake it for a long time on low heat, others shorter time and higher heat. Everything works…

I made two different recipes last week.  Both were really good.  One had more seeds and the crisp bread was more loose and softer, the later one was crispier.  Here is the softer version.  (I don´t have the  exact recipe I used for the crispy one here with me now, so I will tell you about that one later.)

Crisp bread

  • 2 dl Spelt flour (or white flour or whole wheat)
  • 1 dl rolled oats
  • 2 dl seeds (i.e flax seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower and pumpkin seeds)
  • 1 teaspoon Maldon salt
  • 4 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 dl water

(1 cup is 2.4 dl)

All ingredients mixed together in a bowl until everything is well mixed, doesn´t take long.  Roll the dough out on a parchment paper, put the dough between two sheets of parchment paper when rolling it out, so it doesn´t stick to the rolling pin.  Make it rather thin, 2-4 mm.  (Like if you are rolling out dough for gingerbread cookies)

After rolling out the dough, poke it with a fork here and there. Then cut it into squares, it´s good to use a pizza cutter to cut it.  My squares were about 5 x 10 cm.

Bake for 20-30 minutes at 170°c  (340 f).

This is how my other recipe looked like ready for the oven, cut and poked…

I have a small oven for now so I only bake few at a time

I found a recipe for a swedish crisp bread I´d like to try

 Swedish crisp bread 

  • 1 1/3 cup rye flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup milk

(1 cup is 2,4 dl) Mix everything together, but the milk.  Add the milk slowly until you have a nice soft dough.  Roll it out and cut into squares. Poke the dough with a fork to make little holes.  Bake for 15 minutes at 170°c *(340 f )

