Girly brunch and pink pancakes with sage

by soffiagudrun

I got invited to a really nice brunch last weekend.  My next door neighbor and a good friend in the country was having a flock of girls over for brunch.  These girls are in a “brunch club” and meet once in a while for brunch.  They are all into food and every girl brings one dish to the brunch and the standard of the food that is served is high.

Every time they have a new theme and this time it was fresh herbs.

They made for example mint salad, basil cocktail, shrimp salad, coconut-banana desert, zucchini with basil pesto, really good pasta with homemade pesto and rice wrap with fresh mint and coriander.  Everything was delicious.

Once the food was on the table I forgot all about my camera and enjoyed the food and the company as well as the good weather that was so nice so we could sit outside in the sun and eat.

For the brunch, I made pink pancakes with fresh sage. I served the pancakes with sour cream and fried bacon.  Sage and bacon goes well together.

Pink pancakes

  • 1/2 beet, cooked
  • Pancake batter
  • Fresh sage, 2 pck.
I lightly fried the sage in butter on a pan before adding it to the pancakes.

I mixed the cooked  beet with a half a cup of milk in the blender .

This is how my batter was this time

  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup flour
  • Ca 1 cup milk (or as much as you need to get a good pancake batter)

The amount of milk depends on if you like thicker american pancakes or thinner crepes style pancakes.

Mix the ingredients together, as well as the beet that went to the blender.  Add the sage to the dough..

To make the pancakes round I used a cutter I have, I made rather small pancakes.  I used what got cut off the pancakes to make few roses for decoration.  You can see the images below how I rolled it up.

