Homemade Ice cream without eggs – flavored with freshly squeezed oranges and some Rum..

by soffiagudrun

Here is another easy homemade recipe,  Ice cream with no eggs.  This is something you should make yourself instead of buying in the store with all kinds of bad ingredients.

When I was stirring it while it was in the freezer ( I don´t have an Ice cream maker) I tasted it and it was just like my favorite milk shake from the ice cream parlor.

If you make a simple vanilla ice cream recipe you can flavor it as you like.  I had really nice organic oranges from Sicily that I bought at my favorite little organic farmers market kind of a store here in Reykjavik.

Then I used my homemade vanilla rum extract and…………. sugar…yes just plain not so healthy sugar but this would be good with raw sugar as well.

Ice cream with oranges and rum

  • 1/2 L heavy cream
  • 2,5 dl milk
  • 1,8 dl sugar or raw sugar
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract or homemade vanilla rum extract

Flavoring: 

  • Juice for 2-3 organic oranges
  • 2 tablespoons rum
  • 100 g finely grated 70% organic chocolate

In a pot heat up 2 dl cream and sugar on medium heat so the sugar melts.  Take the vanilla beans out of the pod and add to the cream in the pot, and the vanilla pod as well, then you fish it put before freezing the ice cream.

Take the pot off the heat, add the rest of the cream, milk, and vanilla extract.

Cool it in the fridge for few hours, 8 hours or more they suggest.

Remove the vanilla pod and put the ice cream in a box that can go into the freezer.  Put in the freezer or into an ice cream maker if you have one.

This took me less than 30 minutes.  I might use a little bit less sugar next time…

