Brandade and the 5 course – 11 wines birthday dinner

by soffiagudrun

Last year on my birthday I decided to invite friends over for 5 course – 5 wines  “food and wine pairing” event.  We started at 15.00 (3 o´clock) and finished eating around 19.00 (7 o´clock)  then we sat and talked and drank wine until midnight. So the 5 course – 5 wine event ended up being 5 courses and 11 wines.

This was a great way to spend my birthday.  When inviting people I only invited people who were ready to sit the whole time and taste all the wines.  Because I did buy really nice wines and spent time thinking about what would go well with what food and I did serve fancy food.  I am lucky to have have foodie friends who like to do exacly that, eat good food and drink fine wines,  so I was in no trouble finding few good friends to enjoy the day with me.

I did prepare well so It wasn´t a hassle in the kitchen. My kitchen is a part of he dining room.  There fore I wes part of the crowd and the conversations the whole time.

One of the course I made was Brandade.  For a little twist and color I added the beet dip.

Salted cod is a popular dish in Iceland, usually just plain  boiled with potatoes and butter.  I love salted cod.  If you can buy it somewhere, fresh or frozen, go for it!

Brandade with beet dip and broccoli sprout

  • 800 g salted cod
  • U.þ.b 2 dl heavy cream
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • Tellicherry pepper
  • 1 dl a good Extra Virgin Olive Oil
(1 cup = 2,4 dl)

Boil the salted cod.  Make sure it has no skin or bones.  Put the oil in a skillet, on medium heat with the fish and finely chooped or pressed garlic cloves and the cream.  Season with salt and pepper.

Put this in a mixer and blend very well until it´s a nice smooth puree.

Serve in a bowl or on a dish with a little bit of beet sauceand broccoli sprout.  You can skip the beet dip and the sprout.  that was just me making this look a little more gourmet and for the presentation.

Beet dip

  • 1 cooked beet
  • 3 tablespoons sour cream
  • 2-3teaspoons salt
  • 1-2 teaspoons lime juice

Mix well.

I paired this dish with  Marques de Riscal. It did dance with the Brandade.  .

 ”it´s like the wine and the food are good siblings” one of my guest said about this pairing :).

Domain de granges de Mirabel, Viognier was a little too dry and spicy for the Brandade.  Neat wine but not with dish.

There I am in the right corner, happy after a great food and wine paring party.

