Roasted red peppers

by soffiagudrun

Icelandic peppers are so expencive, I got a good deal the other day so I bought a lot.  So they wouldn´t end up in the trash I took some and roasted them.

Roasted peppers are delicious for so many recipes, they get sweet when roasted and are perfect match to spice up a simple tomato soup, put it into your hummus and last but not least Roasted pepper pesto.  And when you are deciding on what to do with your roasted peppers you can keep them in the freezer.

Two ways to do it is to put them under the grill in the oven or if you got gas burners, use a thong and burn them over the gas.

I went for the oven this time.

Roasted peppers

  • Peppers, red, green yellow…

Clean them

Take out the core.  It´s easier to do it now than after you grill them, but it is also possible to put them whole in the oven.

I cut mine and put them on aluminum foil on an oven plate.  The oven was on grill and the highes heat.

I put a little bit of olive oil over them.

After 8-10 minutes they get black, then I watch them cloesely because they get very burnt very fast in the end and I don´t want to burn them that much, not making bbq coals..

Now we want to remove the blackened skin.  It´s easy to get it off if you put the peppers in a bowl covered with plastic wrap.

That way you steam them and when they are cold enough to handle remove all the skin.  I use my fingers for that.

Now you have sweet roasted peppers ready for use.

