Pregnant or not? …Tomato soup with broiled peppers and homemade croutons

by soffiagudrun

It´s funny to see how my cooking changes depending on if I am pregnant or not.  If not I am into gourmet food paring it with some good wine.  If… It´s all about baking and desserts.  So now you can figure it out by browsing through my Icelandic blog  for the last 9 months or so (if you don´t speak Icelandic the pictures will tell you…)

Of course I  eat food as well when I am pregnant, but it´s  often “dull” healthy food like simple boiled salted cod with potatoes and butter, recipes I don´t think many would be interest in. And I love making homemade pizzas.  In between I do some good stuff like a Tomato soup with broiled peppers, and of course the homemade rye bread and the crisp bread.

But once not pregnant I have no urge for the sugar in desserts and cakes and bake very little for the sweet tooth I don´t have.

I have been eating lots of good veggie soups, this is one of my favorite.  It´s tasty and easy to make.  The essential part is the broild peppers.  I did tell you how to broil peppers here.  That is a total must for this recipe.

Tomato soup

  • 1-2  cans tomatoes, some good organic, I like the ones from Eden.
  • 1 onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1-2 dl heavy cream
  • Good olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Cut the red pepper in half, put it in an oven prove dish, with the cut down, season with olive oil salt and pepper if you like. broil it.  See here how it´s done.

Heat olive oil in a pot, on medium heat cook some onion and garlic.  Add tomatoes and the red pepper (after you remove the skin). Simmer for 15 minutes.

Place everything or half of the soup in a blender. Or not at all if you like it chunky.

Put it back in the pot, add the cream, season with salt and pepper.

What also makes this soup really good are the croutons, because I have the soup mild in spices the croutons totally spice it up.

Croutons

  • A day old bread, like baguette or something good
  • Italian spices, like Basil, Oregano or Rosemary
  • Salt
  • Fresh black pepper
  • Extra virgin olive oil, as much as you need.

Cut the bread into bite sized squares.  I used bread, baguette,  I made from a home made pizza dough

Fry the bread  squares on a pan with oil, we are not deep frying, just add 3-4 table spoons at a time to the pan, if you find the croutons dry, just add some more oil, little at a time.  You can also use butter.

Serve with the soup

And for the last extra touch, a fresh Parmigiano Reggiano…NOT the fake powder in a box…it has to be fresh and real 😀

The house by the sea on Facebook…like it if you like things about food…

