Inspired by Aloo Palak

by soffiagudrun

I have a garden full of spinach and it´s growing so fast that I need to find more spinach recipes.  Soon my potatoes in the garden will be ready as well.    I found a recipe for Aloo Palak and used it as an inspiration for this dish.  If you have a garden full of spinach and potatoes you need to use, then this recipe is perfect.

 

Spinach potato dish

  • 1-2 handfuls spinach
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • 1-2 teaspoon good Indian spice blend
  • 5-6 boiled potatoes
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • Little bit of milk, 1/2 dl or so
  • Salt and pepper
  • Bit of butter

Wash the spinach and heat it on a pan with little bit of water.  Mix it in a blender.  Set a side.

Brown onion on a pan with little butter and garlic.  Add the spices, then finely chopped  tomatoes and sugar.  Add the spinach, splash of milk and stir.  Add potatoes, salt and pepper if you like.

I added extra pinch of butter in the end because they say everything tastes better with butter 😉

 

Ready to eat, I served mine with cod.

This is one of my favorite photo, called Sierra.  It wasn´t planned or posed, It was more of a snapshot.  The light outside was beautiful and a great contrast in shadows because of the trees in the yard.

