Two very different cauliflower soups and the underestimated Calzone

by soffiagudrun

My next door neighbor and I decided to cook together, though separately, as we do rather often. She cooks at her home and I cook at my home, then me meet up at either home and our families eat together.  We slightly talk about what we will be cooking to have some Ideas what the other is doing to synchronize the food and every time what ever we cook it always goes perfectly well together.

Even when she made a carrot soup and I did chile-sour cream flatbread and a calzone.  While we ate,  a huge calzone, full of salami, cheese and other goodness was baking in the oven. I was very sure we wouldn´t have room for a slice of that.  I was wrong.  I put it on the table after we finished the soup and chili bread and it was gone in 10 minutes.

It was the best calzone ever.  I have underestimated calzone.  I will be making it again veeeery soon.  Can´t wait.

Anyways… This time my neighbor and I had some cauliflower.  We decided to do a cauliflower soup contest, we both won!

It´s remarkable how many completely different soups you can make with cauliflower.  I don´t have very accurate recipe this time, but i doesn´t matter.  Just use what ever ingredients you have with the cauliflower and taste it until you´re happy with the taste.

Cauliflower and potatoes are good base for a soup.  I never use the little msg soup cubes.  I find the ingredients I use when making soups give me enough flavor.  Fresh herbs and little salt can also help flavor up a good soup.

I did not have heavy cream or milk this time.

súpa

Cauliflower soup with good bacon

  • 1 cauliflower
  • 4-5 potatoes
  • 3-4 good quality bacon
  • Walnuts, a good handful
  • Bit of butter
  • Black pepper
  • garlic cloves
  • Heavy cream if you like
  • 2 apples

Boil Cauliflower, potatoes and apple in some water.

Fry the bacon and add to the cauliflower pot.

In a mixer make a paste of the nuts and tiny bit of water

Add the nuts, pepper, butter and pressed garlic cloves to the soup.  Put the soup in a blender for few spins.  Use as much water from the pot as you like , depending on how thick you want your soup.  If you are adding cream put the soup back in the pot with some cream and heat it up.

súpa

Cauliflower soup with grilled pepper

  • 1 cauliflower
  • 5-6 potatoes
  • Grilled red pepper
  • Garlic cloves
  • Fresh basil
  • Curry
  • Milk or heavy cream

Broil the red pepper in the oven.  Boil everything in a water in a pot.  Add the grilled pepper and spices.  Puree in a blender.  Serve.

IF YOU LIKE FOOD YOU MIGHT LIKE

THE HOUSE BY THE SEA AT FACEBOOK

