Belgian waffles, little bit of snow and a calzone

by soffiagudrun

Icelanders love talking about the weather and that´s what I want to do, but only briefly… because I saw something white and fluffy flying outside my window. YES, it´s snowing.  That´s what you get living in Iceland.  Cold, windy and snow and it´s only beginning of September.

I took one photo…

 

This is what the sea looks like when it´s calm and nice…

Enough about the weather, because what do you do when it´s cold and windy?

You make Calzone…

When I do Calzone I roll out the pizza dough and I put tomato sauce (usually just canned tomatoes) on everything and then on one half I stuff it with salami, red pepper, chili, cooked ground beef, onion and lots of cheese.  Then I fold the dough and press the ends to seal it.

One thing i like about living in the country is that there is no supermarket close by.  That means if we are out of something we don´t run to the store so easily.
I usually have everything to make Belgian waffles and these are the very best.

The secret to this recipe is  to whip the egg whites until stiff  and use a bit of club soda (not sparkling water, but club soda) and let´s not forget bobbbobb, lots of sugar, but I guess that´s what is makes them so good. You can change the amount of sugar.

I gave my husband a Belgian waffle iron for his birthday and I love it, I think the waffles from it are lot nicer than from the old normal one.

Semi-Belgian waffles

  • 2 eggs ( separate the yolk and whites)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup club soda
  • 1 cup milk

Put everything but the egg whites in a  mixer bowl and mix well together.  Whip the whites until they are stiff and add them to the waffle mix carefully.

If you need to separate the yolks you could try this method.

