Christmas Count Down …17 – Kidney bean tortilla – full of flavors but only one spice – cinnamon

by soffiagudrun

Cinnamon, cinnamon, cinnamon, if we ever have cinnamon it´s most likely in December.  The month of ginger bread cookies.

I got this recipe from a Spa and Medical Clinic, owned by the Nature and Health Association of Iceland.  I went there for a visit and they have a nice kitchen, open to public as well.  I was so surprised when I heard what what in this recipe, it was so flavorful and I couldn´t pinpoint the spice blend, so I asked.  The only spice used was cinnamon.

I am usually not a big fan of cinnamon, but I like it in apple pies.  In this dish it´s perfect, I had to try this recipe for myself to see if this was true so I followed the recipe from a-z (in Iceland we say a-ö ) and I got the same flavor.

Try this recipe, just like like it is, exactly… It is worth the try.

Kidney bean tortilla

  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 parsnip
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1-2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup shredded cheese
  • Tortillas

Dice the vegetable and fry it in a little bit of oil with salt and cinnamon.  Add beans and tomatoes.  Simmer for a bit.  Fill the tortillas  with the  veggie mix and the cheese and heat in the oven for 5 minutes at 200°c .

I served it with homemade salsa and Jalapeno dip.

jaalpeno

Jalapeno dip

  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • Finely chopped canned jalapeno (or fresh) *
  • 1-2 teaspoons lime juice
  • 1t easpoon syrup
  • Salt

Mix everything together.

*The amount of jalapeno is by taste.  Put in a little, taste and then add more if you like it with more heat.

The clinic is in Hveragerdi, a half an hour drive and the landscape on the way is very beautiful

Day 7…

calendar07

