Christmas Countdown …2 – Salted Cod, Mediterranean style

by soffiagudrun

Tomorrow is what we call Þorláksmessa, the Mass of St. Thorlak.  You can read all about it here on Wikipedia.  It is a custom that day to eat fermented skate.  It stinks so badly from ammonia.  I don´t eat fermented skate but I really like to have salted cod instead.  I usually just like my salted con plain with boiled potatoes and lots of butter.

Salted cod it is really good  with zucchini and eggplant, Mediterranean style.

I don´t have a picture of this dish, but I will give you the recipe anyways.  If you don´t have salted cod I am sure this goes well with any kind of white fish, plain cod or haddock, but salted cod is so goooooood.

This is one of my favorite dishes.
Salted cod with zucchini, eggplant and tomatoes(From a cookbook by Siggi Hall)

  • 1 kg salted cod, with no skin or bones
  • 1 dl flour
  • 1 dl Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 eggplant, roughly chopped
  • 1 zucchini, roughly chopped
  • 1 can tomatoes
  • 4-6 cloves garlic
  • Handful of finely chopped fresh basil
  • Little bit of finely chopped parsley
  • 2 tablespoons sherry vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon maple syrup
  • 1 dl White Wine
  • Salt and Pepper

Cut the fish in nice pieces, roll it in the flour and fry it in the oil on a frying pan, about 2 minutes each side. Set a side.

On a frying pan, lightly cook the eggplant and zucchini with the garlic.  Add tomatoes and herbs.  Stir well together.  Add the vinegar, syrup and finally the white wine.  Boil it together.  Salt and Pepper.  Put the veggies on a plate and put the fish on top.

We went to a Christmas ball for kids at my husbands work.  My little one really liked the santa.  Here is a photo of her, she is the one in the middle of the photo 🙂

christmas

Window number 22, yay!

calendar22

