Vegetarian red lentils lasagna with zucchini instead of pasta sheets

by soffiagudrun

I am not a vegetarian, but I easily could be.  Sometimes I wonder why I eat meat, then I guess it´s because first of all I am used to it, also it can taste good and third I believe since us humans are meat eaters it is nutritious….  Usually when I cook I make vegetarian dishes, Indian,  Mexican,  Italian ..  If I have ground beef I use it, that is because I get it from the beef farmers next door where I live from grass fed animals that are treated well.

Anyways, I don´t eat much meat at all and when I make vegetarian dishes I surely don´t miss it flavor vise or other vise.  I do love LOVE  green pepper salami for my pizza though… and the Icelandic lamb is very tasty, the smoked goose is really something…:)

This dish here was going to be something like lasagna, with zucchini instead of lasagna sheets and red lentils instead of ground beef…that was just because I had an awesome zucchini and lots of cooked red lentils and I really love red lentils in lasagna.

red lentis

Red lentils vegetarian dish

  • Red lentils, cooked
  • Red pepper
  • Onion
  • Carrots
  • Garlic
  • Fresh Basil
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Chop chop, fry, add lentils and sauce bamm bamm boom…you know the drift

IMG_7410

Basil Dressing

  • Basil, fresh
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

brrmmm brrmmm with the blender.

zucchini

Oven roasted zucchini

  • Zucchini
  • Tomatoes
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Extra virgin olive Oil

In the oven, 220°C , half an hour or so

Also:

  • Cheese, mozzarella or any good cheese that melts well (Cottage cheese would also be good)
  • Parmigiano Reggiano

Layers:

First some red lentils sauce, then zucchini, then cheese, then I put a little bit of basil sauce…as many layers as you like. I only had two this time.

IMG_7503

 

 

Have a terrific weekend!

Here is one of my favorite quotes to inspire you this weekend….

ashe02

 

